Turkish Airlines extends ‘Stopover’ service to three African countries

2 min read

Turkish Airlines has extended its ‘Stopover’ service to now include passengers from South Africa, Nigeria and Algeria who are connecting in Istanbul to select destinations in the airline’s route network*.

The service which was previously only available to passengers departing from Pakistan, Kazakhstan and Australia, will now allow for passengers travelling from these countries, who have more than a 20-hour connecting layover in Istanbul, to benefit from the service, which offers complimentary accommodation and an opportunity to discover the Istanbul during their transit.

Qualifying passengers will receive an accommodation voucher from Turkish Airlines following the booking of their flight. Using the voucher, economy class passengers will receive one night’s accommodation at a 4-star hotel; and premium passengers a voucher for two night’s accommodation at a 5-star hotel in Sultanahmet and Taksim.

Commenting on the announcement, Ahmet Olmuştur, Turkish Airlines’ Chief Marketing Officer, said: “After receiving a positive response from our passengers we are excited to extend our ‘Stopover’ programme to more countries. We want to provide our passengers an opportunity to experience Turkish hospitality and other attractions that the beautiful city of Istanbul has to offer. We are confident that our passengers will benefit from our service and will make the most out of it.”

* The Stopover services are available to passengers travelling on the following routes operated by Turkish Airlines:

Passengers travelling from South Africa to:Asia and Far East and Americas (USA, Canada, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Panama, Venezuela, Cuba), the UK, Ireland, Israel, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Morocco and Tunisia.

Passengers travelling from Nigeria to:Asia and Far East, Middle East, The Americas (USA, Canada, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Panama, Venezuela, Cuba).

Passengers travelling from Algeria to:Asia and the Far East and Middle East.

The ‘Stopover’ service is also available to travellers on the following routes:

Passengers travelling from Pakistan to: USA, Canada, Schengen Countries, U.K., Ireland, Saudi Arabia (Only valid for Hajj and Umrah Passengers).

Passengers travelling from Kazakhstan to: The USA, Canada, the UK, Ireland, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Panama, Cuba, Europe (Schengen Countries), Middle East (UAE, Qatar, Bahrain) South Africa (Durban, Johannesburg, Cape Town).

Passengers travelling from Australia to: Europe, the Balkans and Turkey.