New travel requirement for visitors to New Zealand

1 min read

Immigration New Zealand is introducing a new travel requirement for some visitors to New Zealand.

Effective 1 October 2019, travellers from 60 visa waiver countries will need a NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority). This means that the change will only apply to passport holders from countries that currently do not require a visa to travel to New Zealand.

This change will affect around 1.5 million visitors per year.

From 1 October, travellers who attempt to travel without an NZeTA will be denied boarding.

The primary purpose of introducing the NZeTA is to enable enhanced border security checks to prevent individuals who may pose a potential security risk entering New Zealand. It will also help reduce the time needed for border clearance.

To learn more about the NZeTA, and who needs one, visit