14.3 C
Cape Town
Wed, Nov 25, 2020
Home Hospitality New grading criteria said to be a game changer for the SA...

New grading criteria said to be a game changer for the SA hospitality industry


2 min read

The Tourism Grading Council of South Africa (TGCSA)has released a statement regarding its recently augmented its grading criteria.  

The grading council has added three new categories: apartment hotels, small hotels and boutique hotels and added accolades for properties that promote Responsible Tourism. 
Darryl Erasmus, Chief Quality Assurance Officer at South African Tourism, said the review of our grading system and criteria need to ensure both internationally benchmarked and competitive as a destination. 

“In South Africa in recent years, we have seen an upsurge in both new build apartment hotels as well as more intimate and unique boutique hotels.  We need to ensure we have the categorisation to respond to these new developments.

“One of the key reasons behind the triennial review of our criteria is the impact that technological enhancements are having on the hospitality sector and the overall guest experience.  

“For instance, the provision and access to Wi-Fi is fast becoming a very basic need and guest prerequisite at any category of accommodation. As this has happened, the TGCSA requirements for these categories needed remain current and relevant,” he said. One of the biggest developments in the newly released grading criteria amendments in the formal hotel categories is the amendment to the requirement for the provision of landline telephones in hotel bedrooms.

It is no longer a requirement to have a fixed line telephone in a hotel according to the new 2019 grading standards. Erasmus said this was solely due to the recent tech developments, which allow guests to connect with the hotel service outlets using new platforms and applications, as well as the ability to make outgoing calls using applications linked to the provision of Wi-Fi. Erasmus said South Africa recently had to deal with a number of environmental issues that have directly affected our tourism fraternity. They have since added an accolade to recognise properties that have adopted Responsible Tourism practices.

 The TGCSA criteria for the Accolade for Responsible Tourism were sourced from the existing South African National Standard SANS 1162 for Responsible Tourism Standards. 
“The category and the star grading level awarded to properties annually are by far the most important for travel agents when recommending an establishment to a customer. 

This indicates the type of product that will be encountered as well as the levels of product quality, variety of facilities and service standards to be expected by your guests,” he said.
Erasmus added, “The TGCSA is excited to implement these enhancements and allow our members to benefit from the new standards and differentiation value proposition.”

Jeanette Briedenhann
Jeanette Briedenhann
Jeanette Phillips joined the team in 2016. She developed a passion and love for all things-travel related in her role as travel journalist, a position she held for over seven years. A brief exodus into the corporate marketing sphere proved that there is no better industry than the travel industry. Research and writing are two of Jeanette’s greatest passions, but she is always open to new challenges and different ways of doing things.

Must Read

Flight Centre Travel Group RSA repositions Flight Centre Business Travel and Corporate Traveller for post-COVID growth

Flight Centre Travel Group RSA today announced the integration of the wholly-owned Flight Centre Business Travel brand into the award-winning global Corporate...

Fedhasa urges Insurers to ‘do the right thing’ as the hospitality industry continues to bleed

Fedhasa has condemned Santam’s decision to appeal the unanimous decision by a full bench of the Western Cape High Court requiring the...

Airlink and Amadeus partner to boost growth and enhance the traveler experience

Airlink adopts Amadeus solutions that will allow its customers to benefit from a better travel experience and improved efficiency as well as...

Five ways you can adapt your corporate travel programmes to the ‘new normal’ in time for 2021

FCM Travel Solutions today launched a travel policy benchmarking tool to help travel managers see how their policy compares to other businesses in their...

Detour. Travel that connects you, teaches you and changes you

Detour. Often defined as taking a roundabout route to visit somewhere along the way, and now a fabulous new touring style to...